Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Can't cough and run!

I have experienced a set back in my half marathon preparation.  I have been sick for over a week now with a summer cold.  I ran a fever for at least 4 days and now it's the coughing that is bringing me down.  With 4 weeks left, I just don't see how I can do it. 

Woe is me, I know.  I know all of my friends will be disappointed, but what the two of them don't understand is that this half marathon is all hills and you have to have lung capacity for that.  You have to train your lungs and heart to participate in the endeavor together. 

I had one friend text me for a run this weekend.  When I texted back that I couldn't make it because I was still under the weather, I didn't even get a return text of get well wishes.  It's not like I can control illness other than taking a copious amount of Advil and cough syrup. 

My boss is to blame for all of this.  She was sick first and then infected me with her coughing and talking, coughing and talking.  She was all uppity and went to the doctor, where she was given cough syrup with codeine and fun pills that made her sleepy.  Well, do you think she shared?  Heck no!  She just sat over there and bragged about how sleepy she was, blah, blah, coughity blah.  (SOP, if you reading this, hugs!)

I haven't been to the doctor because I get ridiculed for that.  To hear my other friend tell it, I go to the doctor for a fallen eyelash.  So, I am toughing it out.  If I die of TB, it's on his conscience. 

So the quandary is this, to drudge ahead with the goal of Asheville or simply take time to get well.  I think by this weekend, I will have my answer.

2 comments: